These are so good… I’m kind of scared!

IMG_9175

Every so often I come across a recipe that really catches my eye. I put another little bookmark in my favorites folder and think to myself “crap, this list of stuff to make is getting huge!”  The day these Pumpkin Whoopie Pies showed up in my reader from Peabody’s blog, I honed right in and quickly saved the link for future reference. A little while later, I saw them over at Susan’s blog and then again at Pamela’s and after reading all the good things being said about them, I knew this particular bookmark wouldn’t stay dormant in my folder for long.  

Since I had exactly enough leftover pumpkin puree from my TWD Pumpkin Muffins to make a half a batch of pies, I got right to it. They took no time at all to put together and while I baked I made three different batches of the cream cheese filling: regular, Peabody’s maple version and Susan’s cinnamon version.

These are good. Too damn good. I ate way more than I should have. I started with one, then two, then… never mind.  I had thought about bringing these in for my friends at work, but once I tasted the first one I quickly changed my mind. :twisted: “Mine… allllll mine!” I said in an evil tone between bites. 

IMG_9169

The cake part was absolutely perfect.  It was moist, had a great flavor and instantly I knew this recipe was a keeper.  Once put together, I preferred the maple and cinnamon fillings although I couldn’t decide between the two which one was my favorite. As for the plain filling version, it was definitely too sickening sweet for me. It wasn’t bad or anything, but what a difference a little added flavoring made to mellow out the overly sweet taste.  

These will definitely be added to my Fall recipe rotation. This was the first thing I’ve made in a while that I actually told someone about the next day. Like “I made these Pumpkin Whoopie Pies last night and damn, they were good! Oh right, I couldn’t bring you any because I ate them all. I’m sorry, I shouldn’t have brought it up.”

You must make these. You will not be disappointed. Though I’m warning you ahead of time that they are addicting. Head on over to Culinary Concoctions by Peabody for the recipe. If you’re interested in the cinnamon version of the filling stop by Susan’s She’s Becoming Doughmesstic!  Maybe next time I make these I’ll be ready to share.  But maybe not!

October 23, 2008. Tags: , , . Cakes, Cookies, Cream Cheese, Pumpkin.

8 Comments

  1. Elra replied:

    Sounded that you really like those delicious looking little cakes!

  2. peabody replied:

    They are so very addictive.

  3. Carey replied:

    Krn, I’m not even going to ask if you’re bringing any over tonight. But I am curious – did you try our secret frosting recipe? I’ve used that with pumpkin bread with great success.

  4. Candy replied:

    These look so yummy!

  5. Shari replied:

    I’ve never made whoopie pies or even had them, but they sure sound and look good!

  6. Matt replied:

    I’m totally dating myself, but there’s a song that goes, “another season, another reason for making whoopee(s)”. These look well worth a song!

  7. brokenheartedbaker replied:

    I just posted a recipe for these, if you’re interested!

  8. Anonymous replied:

    That shit? Was nasty as fuck

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

