Tuesdays with Dorie: French Pear Tart

IMG_0326

So this week of Tuesdays with Dorie marks a special occasion – the one year anniversary of TWD! Dorie Greenspan, the author of the fabulous Baking: From my home to yours book we’re all making our way through, chose her French Pear Tart for all of us to try. She also answered questions from the OSI featured bakers. Pretty cool.

This French Pear Tart is a super easy dessert. It’s just a tart shell with an almond cream and pears. You can poach the pears yourself (which I did) or use canned pears to make it even easier. I forgot that I didn’t own a large tart pan (which happens when you have cabinets and closets stuffed to the brim) so I made this in a springform instead. I wasn’t sure how using a different pan would affect it. I found out the tart didn’t get done all the way even after 65 minutes of baking but I didn’t care, it was still good. And what it may have lost in looks from not having the detailed edging on the crust, it made up for in taste. I loved this.

IMG_0316

Please visit Dorie’s website for the recipe and to check out all the other amazing things she posts. If you haven’t gotten the Baking: From my home to yours, I highly recommend it. I’ve made enough recipes from it now where I can name off tons of my favorites, but if I had to choose my least favorite I’d have a really hard time. That equals a great book.

I’m looking forward to another great year with TWD. I got the book for Christmas 2007 and joined the group back in April 2008, starting with Bill’s Big Carrot Cake. Last year, I made 44 of the recipes selected. I did a lot of “Blast From the Past” posts when I had extra time and calories to spare where I made selections from before I joined. Now, I’m only 9 behind before I’ve made every single recipe the group has done.

Still need to complete:
Quintuple Chocolate Brownies, Black and White Chocolate Cake, Brown Sugar-Apple Cheesecake, Almost-Fudge Gateau, Russian Grandmothers’ Apple Pie-Cake, Caramel-Topped Flan, Gooey Chocolate Cakes, The Most Extraordinary French Lemon Cream Tart, and Marshmallows.

Special thanks to Laurie for starting this amazing group that led me to the food blogging world. And, of course, thanks to Dorie Greenspan for inspiring me and so many other bakers to get in the kitchen every week and do what we love doing.

January 6, 2009. Tags: , , , . almond, Pear, Tart, TWD.

13 Comments

  1. sabrina replied:

    That looks amazing! Very nice job!

  2. L W replied:

    Your tart looks absolutely perfect! Fab job babe!

  3. Rebecca replied:

    Mmmmm, that tart looks so delicious. Here’s to another year of TWD!

  4. Elra replied:

    Very pretty karen, I am sure it tastes delicious.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  5. pinkstripes replied:

    Your tart looks perfect! I think the tarts that were made in springform pans look nice.

  6. Nancy (n.o.e.) replied:

    I am in awe of your baking – I can barely accommodate the weekly baking of TWD let alone catching up on the 20 I missed! The Quintuple Chocolate Brownies were really good, though – I did them as my only rewind!
    Nancy

  7. Marthe replied:

    Your tart looks absolutely perfect!! Mine is still in the making…

  8. Carey replied:

    Krn that looks pretty awesome. Just let me know when you make those Quintuple Chocolate Brownies, and I will help you test them to make sure they don’t contain poison. You know, for the good of the blog.

  9. chocolatechic replied:

    Looks gorgeous.

  10. Vibi replied:

    Bee-You-Tee-Full!!! Karen! Very, very well done!

  11. pamela replied:

    Personally, I don’t think your tart is lacking anything in looks!! It looks absolutely fabulous! I didn’t know that the BB chose the pancakes this week. I was very surprised to learn that! What a great choice you made! Again, you did a marvelous job with this dessert. I can’t wait to try it.

  12. Leanne replied:

    Beautiful tart. Good luck on baking the other 9. I am not brave enough to even think about the ones I missed.

  13. Jules replied:

    Lovely tart! I’ve missed too many recipes to even think about going back. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

