TFF: Roasted Acorn Squash with Cheese Tortellini

Roasted Acorn Squash with Cheese Tortellini

Roasted Acorn Squash with Cheese Tortellini ranks as one of the best Tyler Florence recipes I’ve made so far.  

Acorn squash is hollowed out, roasted in the oven and then used as a serving dish to hold cheese tortellini in a creamy, alfredo like sauce. A little garnish of parmesan and sage leaves is sprinkled on the top. The cheese tortellini ends up getting kind of crispy which makes for a great texture difference. Everything together has a smooth, creamy, and subtle richness that I absolutely loved.

acorn squash

acorn squash

roasted acorn squash

Roasted Acorn Squash with Cheese Tortellini

IMG_1322

I think the presentation factor makes this a perfect dish to serve at a dinner party. Plus, it’s meatless so it would be good for vegetarian guests.  

My only recommendation would be to roast the squash a little bit longer than the recipe suggests.  I’ve found this to be true with a few of Tyler’s roasting times.  Maybe it’s just my oven or something with my own personal preferences, but just be aware.

I actually made this a few weeks ago but just hadn’t had the time to get it posted. So tonight I seriously felt bummed inside while looking at these pictures at the same time I had Sloppy Joe Hamburger Helper simmering away on the stove.  It just didn’t seem right.  :)

Tyler Florence’s Roasted Acorn Squash with Cheese Tortellini

Ingredients
2 medium acorn squash (about 1 pound each)
Extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 cups heavy cream
1 garlic clove crushed
1 sprig thyme
1 cup grated Parmesan
1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1 pound cheese tortellini (store bought)
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
Grated parmesan cheese for topping
Fresh sage leaves for garnish
AOL has the recipe here with directions

Roasted Acorn Squash with Cheese Tortellini is my eleventh post for Tyler Florence Fridays, a group with the freedom to make any recipe of Tyler’s that they choose and then share their experiences every Friday.

April 17, 2009. Tags: , , , , . Pasta, Squash, Tyler Florence, Vegetables.

17 Comments

  1. Recipe man replied:

    YUM i love squash i have it with honey and cinnamon in the oven

  2. Natashya replied:

    That does look really, really good. I have been eying this recipe. Maybe they have smaller squash down there, I notice with some recipes for squash that the weight they give is so much less that the squash we have here in Canada.

  3. Carey replied:

    Mmmmm… hamburger helper…

    This looks good Krn. I’m not usually a squash eater, but this looks like a good squash-eating situation for me. The black pepper looks nice.

  4. applec replied:

    That looks super. I love the first photo with the dinner in the squash half.

  5. Jessica replied:

    That looks really, really great. I’m going to have to remember that for next winter when I’m trying to figure out what to make with acorn squash.

  6. michaela replied:

    beautiful presentation.

  7. Cathy replied:

    This looks amazingly, incredibly delicious. Your photos make it downright irresistible. I cannot wait to give this a try.

  8. DebinHawaii replied:

    I think this needs to go on the must-try list with all the great reviews. Such a gorgeous dish!

  9. pinkstripes replied:

    Wow! This sounds amazing. I’ll have to try it.

  10. pamela replied:

    Wow!! I would have never thought of pairing the two, but it looks very good and extremely tempting!

  11. Joanne replied:

    I have been dying to make these but just haven’t gotten around to it. You are pushing me closer to the edge…

  12. pam replied:

    Oh, I’m so glad you posted this. I’ve had my eye on this recipe for quite awhile!

  13. Jenny replied:

    I like the creativity of this one. It has wow factor to the presentation.

  14. vibi replied:

    What a nice presentation… out of this world really!

    Ain’t that Tyler Florence a dream!? Everything I make of his, turns out great… and once again, you prooved me right!

    This is totaly beautiful and must be just as amazingly tasty!

  15. Becky replied:

    Mmmmmmmm…..This looks delicious! You should make this for us one night. Than again everything you put up looks really good.

  16. Michael Beyer replied:

    Sounds delicious and an inspired presentation! I made this great Moroccan-style stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.

    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

  17. Jessica replied:

    Try increasing the oven temp slightly and cover with foil, as well as increasing the cooking time. The steam does lovely things to the squash, but you need to pour out the water that collects in the bowl. I cooked my butternut at a higher temp than normal yesterday, covered with foil and left it in about 5 minutes longer than normal. It’s gorgeous for butternut soup now. Otherwise, the recipe seems fairly straight-forward and quite appealing for a dinner party.

    If you want to eliminate leveling off the bottom of the squash, you can roast on an inverted muffin tin, fitted into a cookie sheet, and use the lines to support the gourd. Serves as a convection boost as well, allowing air to circulate a bit.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

