TFF: Chicken with Apple Cider Sauce and Rice Pilaf

Hi, remember me?

I think there’s been a time warp.

Somehow, the last five weeks or so have flown by in a blur.

We’ve been on puppy duty and fully immersed in ironing out all of our new routines. Here’s my big girl at 13 weeks old. She’s already getting so big, she’ll be a full size Great Dane in no time it seems. I swear she grows visibly every single day!

my dog

I’ve hardly been in the kitchen at all the last five weeks. Heating up cans of soup or grabbing cold pizza out of the fridge wouldn’t count I don’t think.  I’ve only actually made something twice and both of those times I was cooking and baking out of… a box.  *Gasp!* Anyway, I’ve really missed it. It was my “me” time and something I just naturally did without putting too much thought into it.

So this week I’m back with Tyler Florence Fridays after my little unplanned hiatus. Maybe only halfway because I’m actually kind of cheating, this recipe is one I’ve had saved in my drafts for a while. I made this back in January and never posted it because I felt I couldn’t take a decent picture of it to save my life. But this Apple Cider Chicken was so GOOD and I thought it should be shared since apple cider season is getting into full swing. I also had made Tyler’s Rice Pilaf as an afterthought, just kind of throwing it together using dried herbs I had on hand.

Apple Cider Chicken with Rice Pilaf

Some of the Food Network reviews complained about the Apple Cider Sauce and how it never got thick enough. I paid attention to this complaint and cooked the sauce on high heat for the recommended time. Doing it this way, I didn’t have any problems at all.

The chicken had a great flavor and was slightly sweet. I will make this again without a doubt, especially now that apple cider is starting to pop up everywhere again. I can’t look at apple cider anymore without thinking back to Tyler and this chicken recipe. Mmmm!

Tyler Florence’s Chicken with Apple Cider Sauce
Show: How To Boil Water Episode: Make It Tonight

Ingredients
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (about 1 pound)
2 teaspoons kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup apple cider
1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
Click here for directions

Tyler Florence’s Rice Pilaf
Show: How To Boil Water Episode: Make It Tonight

Ingredients
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 shallot, thinly sliced
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
2 cups basmati-style long grain rice
3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 bay leaf
1 sprig fresh rosemary
Click here for directions

Chicken with Apple Cider and Rice Pilaf marks my 19th post for Tyler Florence Fridays, a group with the freedom to make any recipe of Tyler’s that they choose and then share their experiences every Friday.

It feels good to get back to the blog. Until next time…

August 6, 2009. Tags: , , , . Chicken, Tyler Florence.

16 Comments

  1. Kim replied:

    Glad to see you back! You puppy is beautiful!! And, don’t we all cook out of a box sometimes : ) I love the sound of this chicken. Apple cider sauce…yum!!

  2. Carey replied:

    I don’t care if they were out of a box, those cupcakes were good.

  3. Arlene replied:

    What a sweet puppy face! This will definitely be on my fall list. We eat chicken so often, I can never have too many new chicken recipes.

  4. Michelle replied:

    Kinder is gorgeous! A new puppy always takes much more of your time then you anticipated but dogs are so worth the extra effort.

    Your Apple Cider Chicken sounds so scrumptious! The last week I’ve been thinking about fall and I’m ready for a change of seasons and menu!

  5. DebinHawaii replied:

    Gorgeous puppy! She looks like my friends Great Dane Baron–same beautiful color. I didn’t see Baron for a few weeks once when he was a puppy and it was like puppy then pony–he got so big!

    The chicken looks delicious–I love apple cider and am going to have to try this one.

  6. Natashya replied:

    That looks fantastic! Thanks for the tips about thickening the sauce. It’s nice to have a couple of reserve posts on hand.. :)

  7. pam replied:

    Glad you are back! Well of course you’ve been busy, just look at the sweet puppy!

  8. Jenny replied:

    Sounds good, nothing wrong with the picture at all.

  9. Linda @ Tender Crumb replied:

    Oh my goodness, you puppy is too cute! We recently brought a new puppy home (now 18 weeks old), so totally can relate that notion of my life/schedule revolving around the dog. Still, the effort is totally worth it!

  10. Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » August 2009 Roundup replied:

    [...] Hot Brown Sandwich from Serious Eats, Flank Steak with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce from sjgourmet, Chicken with Apple Cider Sauce and Rice Pilaf from Something Sweet by Karen, Spinach Feta Burgers from ::steph chows::, New Potato Salad and [...]

  11. mma clothing replied:

    Very cool recipe. I’m going to try this out…I’ll let you know how it goes! Cool dog :)

  12. Gianna Monsegur replied:

    I genuinely enjoy studying on this internet site , it has great blog posts.

  13. Russell replied:

    Quercetin, one of the most studied antioxidants, is recommended at a dosage of 500
    mg 3 times a day. Diet is having an important role
    in development of both physical and mental health. Another guideline that has been
    offered is to take about 100 mg of bioflavonoids for every 500 mg of vitamin C.

  14. Heidi replied:

    Anti Aging formulas which are claimed to be 100 % natural contain just some natural compounds to make consumers to believe that they are getting natural products. Babassu Oil is especially suitable for eczema, itchy, dry, and inflamed skin. Almond oil is another example of a natural substance that has been in use for thousands of years.

  15. rose hip replied:

    Stretch marks occur when the skin is stretched over a short period of time, such as during pregnancy or as
    a result of sudden growth spurts. While the essential oils are often considered the “active ingredients”,
    its important to consider the “carrier oils” are exceptionally
    therapeutic as well. This oil won’t become rancid, and it won’t lose its antioxidants,
    even if it’s stored for long time periods.

  16. LcGX replied:

    476994 112287This is some great information. I expect additional facts like this was distributed across the web today. 398378

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

